Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

Single node randomly going unresponsive 8 years 2 weeks ago #717

• Matt Low
  • Matt Low's Avatar Topic Author
Hi
I'm fairly new to virtual machines; have successfully installed HA-lizard using the noSAN installer script on a 2-node pool and have tested various HA features with varying levels of success. Started the work last Friday on two new Dell PowerEdge R230 servers.

The original master of the pool had a bit of a round-about installation process as I figured out what was and wasn't possible with the dell software raid controller, and ended up going with mdadm to implement a raid 10 array across our 4-bay servers, and used that device for replication storage.

All was working peachy except that 3 times now, the original master of the pool has suddenly gone unresponsive (2 times while it was pool master and once while it was pool slave) with no logs available at the time it goes unresponsive to see what is going on.

iDRAC reports the server is online, but can't ping either the replication IP or the management IP from the newly promoted master. HA functions correctly migrating the VMs to new master.

My main question before I start further troubleshooting is whether it's possible to perform a fresh install of XS on the troubled node, join it to the original, and run the noSAN installer script on it with all of the originally used parameters. Will HA-lizard on the other side pick it up and start drbd syncing?

Thanks for the support and thanks for the software! :)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Single node randomly going unresponsive 8 years 2 weeks ago #718

• Matt Low
An example of the varying success: After the node went unresponsive last, I cold booted it through iDRAC and it was picked up by the pool again. I can't ping the shared replication IP on it. I can if I add a static route to the master.